About me…

Standard

I’ve been a reader since I was three and still have many of my childhood books – very well worn, well loved and treasured. Among the most favourite of these are a large illustrated Wizard of Oz, which was a birthday present from my older sister on my 5th birthday, a little battered book called House for Sale and another called Teddy Edward’s Winter Holiday.

I came to teaching later in life – age 35 and qualified as a teacher-librarian a couple of years after that. Over the years and in many different libraries, I shared my pleasure in reading with children of all ages and actively encouraged them to pick up a book to read for enjoyment. Inviting authors to visit, taking children to literature festivals, participating in Readers Cup, motivating kids to read widely, utilising opportunities such as the MS Readathon and Reading Challenges and more are tactics I used in this pursuit.

There is lots more to tell about this, along the way it will happen.

Primarily, I have started this blog as a space to collate reviews which I started writing about a year ago – and now review for several publishers as well as ReadPlus.

Leave a Reply

