My latest talking books…

Standard

Around the World in 80 Days – Michael Palin

AroundTheWorldIn80DaysDvdCover

In 1989 Michael Palin embarked on the first of his hugely successful travel series. In my family, we all watched avidly and then when the accompanying book was published I bought a copy for my father as he had enjoyed the show so much. After his death in 1999, the book came back to me and some years later I was lucky enough to meet Michael Palin in Brisbane as he promoted ‘New Europe’. This charming and funny man gladly signed not only all my books including 80 days but all my Monty Python ‘bits’ as well.

So it was with great pleasure that I revisited the account of the trip via talking book – spoken by Michael himself.  A very enjoyable commute interlude!

See Michael talk about the trip here.

To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

mockbird_b_m1904963

As my Year 10s are studying this text this term, I thought rather than re-read the book for at least the 20th time, I would listen to it instead. Delightfully spoken by Sissy Spacek, who of course has JUST the right accent, it was 11 ½ hours of pure listening pleasure.

You might remember the First Tuesday Book Club discussion at the time of the book’s anniversary – worth a revisit!

The Bookseller of Kabul – Asne Seierstad

Asne_Seierstad_The_Bookseller_of_Kabul

Published in 2002, this literary non-fiction explores the everyday lives of family and others connected with a bookseller called Shah Muhammed Rais, with whom Seierstad had become acquainted during her journalistic sojourn in Afghanistan.  Despite controversy surrounding the book after its publication, I found it both interesting and informative and gave me a much greater understanding of the life of the ordinary citizens in this beleaguered country.

Leave a Reply

